CONCORD, N.C. (July 8, 2014) - Don Newman of Memorial Baptist Church in Charlotte was the quickest man of the cloth in the Faster Pastor School Bus Slobberknocker during Week Five of the Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Greg Lang, Carson Ferguson and Jensen Jorgensen picked up victories, among others.
In the Faster Pastor bus race, Don Newman drove away from the field in the final laps after a battle between Jeff Bates of Elevation Church and Donnie Icenhour of Rocky River Church. Bryon Alexander of May's Chapel United Methodist Church, Buddy Compton of Sons of Thunder Ministry, Alex Kennedy of Carmel Baptist Church and Jack Homesly of Christ Community Church rounded out the top 5.
Lang picked up his first win of the season in the Legend Car Pro division, holding off a hard-charging Daniel Hemric after an exciting side-by-side battle. Lang started on the pole for the 25-lap race, and defended the top spot throughout. The first caution flew on lap 9 for a spin by Michael Torres in Turn 2. On the restart, Hemric chose the outside lane to stack him up beside Lang for the restart, but he was shuffled back by Kason Plott. The yellow flag came out again on lap 14 as Trey Jarrell and Steven Cantrell made contact. Hemric chose the outside once again to challenge for the lead on the restart and Lang raced him hard for several laps to hang on to the point position. Plott and William Byron shuffled Hemric back to fourth, but he was able to fight his way back to a second place finish as Lang took the checkers. Byron finished third, Plott fourth and Jared Irvan finished fifth.
In one of the night's more chaotic races, Ferguson managed to make it out unscathed and take the checkered flag in the Young Lions Legend Car division. Matt Thomas led the most of the 20 laps of the race, making his way to the top position going into lap 7. Christian Eckes took fifth on lap 5 and fought his way around the top 5 for the remainder of the race. After the third of six cautions, Noah Gragson ended up fighting his way to fourth place.
Following track cleanup, Alex Murray slid into third on lap 18 while Ferguson made a race-winning move by passing Thomas going into lap 19. A stalled-out car on the frontstretch resulted in the sixth and final caution of the night. Officials ended the race after 19 laps as the time limit ran out and Ferguson ran away with the win. Thomas took second, Murray finished third, Eckes placed fourth and Gragson took fifth.
Jorgensen led 17 laps in the Bandolero Outlaw feature en route to his second win of the season. Jorgensen, a Stockbridge, Ga. native, passed points leader Ashton Winger on a lap 3 restart and never looked back. After recording the fastest split of the race with 18.739 seconds on lap 5, Jorgensen extended his race lead to almost 10 car lengths by lap 14.
Jorgensen cruised to the race win, beating race runner-up Chase Purdy by 1.094 seconds. Austin Powell and Miguel Cesar Jr. both recorded their fifth top-five finish of the season with a third and fourth place finish, respectively. Winger rounded out the top-five, 4.586 seconds behind Jorgensen.
Other winners included Dillon Faggart, of Concord, N.C.; in the Quaker Steak and Lube Legend Car Semi-Pro division; Tom Pistone, of Mooresville, N.C., in the Security Force Legend Car Masters division; Chandler Smith, of Jasper, Ga., in the LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits; and Bryson Ruff, of Indian Trail, N.C., in the Bandolero Beginner Bandits.
The 21st annual Jack in the Box Summer Shootout Series continues Tuesday, July 15, with the First Responders School Bus Race, in addition to regular Legend Car and Bandolero racing divisions.
Tickets for the Summer Shootout Series are $7 for adults and are available in advance at the speedway ticket office or at Gates 4 and 5 the night of the event. Kids 13 and under get in free. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with preliminary action starting at 5:10 p.m. Opening ceremonies are at 6:45 p.m. and feature races are scheduled to conclude by approximately 10 p.m.
For tickets to the Summer Shootout Series, call the Charlotte Motor Speedway ticket office at 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit
For live updates during the Summer Shootout Series, follow hashtag #SummerShootout on Twitter. To join in on the conversation simply include #SummerShootout in your tweet.
Connect with Charlotte Motor Speedway on Twitter or become a Facebook fan
The unofficial results:
Bandolero Beginner Bandits Feature (21 laps): 1. Bryson Ruff; 2. Carson Poindexter; 3. George Hayes; 4. Ashley Pantoulas; 5. Autumn Weaver; 6. Roy Hayes; 7. Jackson Moore; 8. Adam Levin; 9. Tommy Good; 10. Isabella Robusto; 11. Brandon Gantz; 12 Dylan Notaro; 13. Tyler Adams.
LiveWell Homes Bandolero Bandits Feature (20 laps): 1. Chandler Smith; 2. Daniel Wilk; 3. DJ Canipe; 4. Eddie Fatscher; 5. Ryleigh Lemonds; 6. Mini Tyrell; 7. Cameron Bolin; 8. William Robusto; 9. Elijah Todd; 10. Austin Geer; 11. Brayde Miranda; 12. Josh Kossek; 13. Mark Durgin Jr.; 14. Blake Cisneros; 15. Ashton Higgins; 16. Liz Montgomery; 17. Connor Younginer; 18. Ryan Israel.
Bandolero Outlaws Feature (20 laps): 1. Jensen Jorgensen; 2. Chase Purdy; 3. Austin Powell; 4. Miguel Cesar Jr.; 5. Ashton Winger; 6. Justin Taylor; 7. Kamera McDonald; 8. Eric Brown; 9. Nate Tretow; 10. Kayla Lyons; 11. Hannah Bell; 12. Nick MacMillon; 13. Matt Mead; 14. Jack Fread; 15. Matthew Davey; 16. Daniel Bedford; 17. Kevin Hubbard; 18. Ashton Tucker; 19. Zack St. Onge; 20. Matthew Emery; 21. Trevor Rizzo; 22. Dylan Rumboldt; 23. Jordan Plummer.
Legend Car Young Lions Feature (19 laps): 1. Carson Ferguson; 2. Matt Thomas; 3. Alex Murray; 4. Christian Eckes; 5. Noah Gragson; 6. Ryan Millington; 7. Riley Herbst; 8. Stefan Parsons; 9. Austin Green; 10. Scott Joy; 11. AJ Davis; 12. Stevie Johns Jr.; 13. Walter Thomas; 14. Dawson Cram; 15. Michael Womack; 16. Amber Burchette; 17. Seth Werner; 18. Alex Reece; 19. Mason Diaz.
Security Force Legend Car Masters Feature (25 laps): 1. Tom Pistone; 2. Scott Whitaker; 3. Mark Green; 4. Bruce Silver; 5. Chip Ferguson; 6. Jan Ingram; 7. Robbie Woodall; 8. Robby Faggart; 9. Shawn Geisel; 10. Jamie Smith; 11. Michael Delaney.
Quaker Steak & Lube Legend Car Semi-Pro Feature (25 laps): 1. Dillon Faggart; 2. Devin O'Connell; 3. Josh Brimecombe; 4. Tyler Truex; 5. John Holleman; 6. Jordan Stillwell; 7. Josh Turner; 8. Jake Tretow; 9. Casey Brown; 10. Craig Biryla; 11. Robby Lyons; 12. Austin Langenstein; 13. Connor Pyle; 14. Ryan Demartini; 15. Tyler Clary; 16. Courtney Lefcourt; 17. Sheldon Crouse; 18. Tyler Audie; 19. Enrique Limon.
Legend Car Pro Feature (25 laps): 1. Gregory Lang; 2. Daniel Hemric; 3. William Byron; 4. Kason Plott; 5. Jared Irvan; 6. Jordan Black; 7. Zane Smith; 8. Joey Padgett; 9. Trey Jarrell; 10. Evan Swilling; 11. Dakota Baggette; 12. Michael Torres; 13. Christopher Hogan; 14. Steven Cantrell.